Announcement

Collapse
1 of 2 < >

ZEALOTRY Users: Critical Notice on Continued Use

Edit: Our new HTML5 client (Orchil) is now open for beta testing in The Eternal City and Grendel's Revenge. Feel free to try give it a whirl at http://test.skotos.net/orchil/

Edit: We have made great strides toward a new HTML5 client, which should offer a replacement to Zealotry. We're hoping to release that in the very near future, but in the meantime, using Pale Moon remains the best method for ensuring there is zero interruption to your game playing during the transition.

As of November 14, Mozilla will be auto-updating all copies of Mozilla Firefox to Mozilla 57, a new edition of their browser that will disable all legacy add-ons. This will probably include the majority of the plug-ins that you use on Mozilla, including the Skotos Zealotry plug-in.

This is a big problem for us because Zealotry is the most stable of our clients at this time, and the one that we believe is in the widest use. There's unfortunately no easy way to update it, because we'd have to rewrite it from practically scratch, using their new programming system.

There are tricks that you could use to to prevent Mozilla updates, but we don't particularly suggest them, as you want to have a clean, secure browser. Fortunately, there are two alternative browsers that will support Zealotry. Each of them branched off of an earlier version of Mozilla Firefox, and each of them continues to be updated for important security issues.

Pale Moon Browser

The Pale Moon browser is our suggested replacement. It is a totally separate browser that branched off of Firefox some years ago. It will continue to support the classic plug-ins.

To install it:
  • Install Pale Moon (Windows & UNIX only)
  • Install the Zealotry XPI on Pale Moon
  • Restart the Pale Moon Browser
  • Play on Pale Moon

The official version of Pale Moon only supports Windows and UNIX, but you can also get a slightly less official version of Pale Moon for the Mac. We've tested it out and it looks like it's clean and works correctly, but use your own level of caution in working with the Mac variant.

If You Have Errors

Some users are experiencing "Content Encoding Errors" when using Pale Moon and Zealotry. As best we can tell, this is due to an incompatibility between Windows 8.1, Pale Moon, and Plugins. If you have this problem (or any other), we suggest instead using Mozilla's extended-release version of Firefox, which branched at Firefox 52. It's expected to remain supported until at least June 28, 2018, by which time Mozilla is planning to jump their ESR to a post-plugin phase. This is therefore a short-term solution, but we expect to have full release of our New HTML5 client well before that.

To install it:
The Big Picture

Our larger-scale goal is to introduce a new client that will be usable on any browser and make our games generally more accessible. We've had a HTML5 client in process since last year, but are currently hitting roadblocks that make a deployment before November 14 problematic. We've also just started a second project, which would be more specifically focused as a Zealotry replacement, without worries about new bells or new whistles. Both of these possibilities are being done out-of-house, by Skotos players, but they're receiving our highest level of attention for whatever support they need, as this is all our top priority.

So, consider this a short-term fix, but in the meantime if you use Zealotry, please download one of the alternative browsers and test them out ASAP.
2 of 2 < >

Grendel's Revenge Free Accounts

On December 15th of 2012, Grendel's Revenge enabled free accounts for play. This announcement is following in the suit of TEC's own free account announcement, serving as a reminder to any new or returning players that are browsing the forums.

For all the details about what free accounts are, look no further than here: http://forum.skotos.net/showthread.php?t=95655

In order to log into GR for free, simply visit this page to sign into your Skotos account (ignoring any subscription notices it may give): https://www.skotos.net/user/login.php

Then click the following link for Zealotry/Firefox: zealotry:@GrendelsRevenge.skotos.net...login/Zealotry

Or this link for Alice/Internet Explorer: http://grendelsrevenge.skotos.net/mo...in/alice.shtml

Problems? Questions? You can email the GR staff group at grendel.staff@gmail.com
See more
See less

Event Weeks

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • Event Weeks

    I am proud to announce today that we are starting our first ever Event Week on Monday, the 27th. Event Weeks are something new we are trying out, and if all goes well, we hope to make them a common occurrence. These Event Weeks are meant to reward players that log on often and for longer periods of time by allowing them to participate in staff run, larger-scale unscheduled events.



    How Does an Event Week Work?

    An Event Week begins in the forums with an announcement in this thread. That announcement will have details about the Event Week (event title, times, event description, etc.), including the start and end date for the Event Week.

    An Event Week is comprised of several events that will occur at different times throughout that week. These events are completely open to change through player actions, and players will have the entire week to influence them. Because of the level of freedom involved in a series of events that takes place over a week, staff will be able to host them more often, bring the events to more players, and attempt entirely new kinds of events with greater ease.



    How do I know when to attend an event during an Event Week?

    You won't. The only time an event in an Event Week will have a schedule time announced will be on the very first day of an Event Week, and that may not occur every time. Instead, StoryGuides and GameMasters work together to bring the events to the players when they are online. Part of the event week may happen at a high point during the day, or at a low point to reward those that are on at the time, or during any other point in the day.

    Staff will work together to ensure there is an equal chance for everyone to participate in an Event Week event, and that you enjoy yourselves no matter what, whether you're coming in at the end of the Event Week, or you've been there since the beginning. Either way, be sure to log on often to see what happens!
    Grendel's Revenge StoryGuide

  • #2
    [And without further ado, this is our first event week!]


    "In the Name of Good Foods!"
    Start date: Monday, September 27th, 9:15 PM EST/8:15 PM CST/7:15 PM MST/6:15PM PST
    End date: Sunday, October 3rd

    An abandoned farm beyond the forests of Uthgol has once again become active. The lights inside the house have been lit, and a campfire nearby started. What new inhabitants have taken over this ruined home?


    [Keep your eyes out, and we'll see you there.]
    Grendel's Revenge StoryGuide

    Comment


    • #3
      "In the Name of Good Foods!"
      End date time: Tonight, Sunday, October 3rd, 9:30 PM EST/8:30 PM CST/7:30 PM MST/6:30PM PST


      [Tonight marks the end of our very first event week. We hope to see you all there tonight! Please know that this time is subject to change, due to the nature of event weeks. If a change in time is expected, there will be a second post here.

      Following the end of the event week, a feedback and discussion post will be opened in the forums. When this happens, please drop by and tell us what you think about the event week!]
      Grendel's Revenge StoryGuide

      Comment


      • #4
        The Weakened Seal

        "The Weakened Seal"
        Start date: Monday, October 25th, 8:00PM EST/ 7:00PM CST/ 6:00PM MST/5:00PM PST
        End date: Saturday, October 30th

        A storm is forming to the west. Deep within the forest of Uthgol, a flash of lightning crashes into the leaf-littered forest floor, causing several nearby trees to fall to the ground. As it begins to rain, the dust is pulled downward, revealing the remains of a stone structure...
        Grendel's Revenge StoryGuide

        Comment


        • #5
          Originally posted by Pence View Post
          "The Weakened Seal"
          Start date: Monday, October 25th, 8:00PM EST/ 7:00PM CST/ 6:00PM MST/5:00PM PST
          End date: Saturday, October 30th

          A storm is forming to the west. Deep within the forest of Uthgol, a flash of lightning crashes into the leaf-littered forest floor, causing several nearby trees to fall to the ground. As it begins to rain, the dust is pulled downward, revealing the remains of a stone structure...
          The above event's start will be pushed back by one hour.

          The new start time for the event week is at 9:00PM EST/ 7:00PM CST/ 6:00PM MST/ 5:00PM PST on Monday, October 25th.
          Grendel's Revenge StoryGuide

          Comment


          • #6
            The time frame for the 'Weakened Seal' event week will be extended from Monday to Saturday the 30th (today), to the evening of Sunday the 31st in order to allow for a proper completion of the event week's story.

            We look forward to seeing you all there!
            Grendel's Revenge StoryGuide

            Comment


            • #7
              "Hunting the Hunters"
              Start date: Monday, February 14th, 7:00PM EST/ 6:00PM CST/ 5:00PM MST/4:00PM PST
              End date: Sunday, February 20th

              Cloaked humans continue to appear in the shadows, spying on clans and powerful wanderers alike. In the west, their army's forces are gathering in unknown locations, and monsters across Uthgol have begun to disappear without notice. In the midst of the two tactician's mysterious plans, a demon appears to aid the monsters of Grendel.



              [After an unintentionally long event hiatus, we are proud to announce our next event week, which will hopefully be followed by more frequent events. Please keep your eyes peeled before and during the event week, and we'll see you there!
              Grendel's Revenge StoryGuide

              Comment


              • #8
                This week's scheduled event week is being moved forward by one day to make accommodations to staff and player schedule. The new times are as follows:

                Start date: Tuesday, February 15th, 7:00PM EST/ 6:00PM CST/ 5:00PM MST/4:00PM PST
                End date: Sunday, February 20th


                Have a Happy Valentine's days!
                Grendel's Revenge StoryGuide

                Comment


                • #9
                  Isolde's forces continue to gather in the west as the demon and the monsters of Uthgol band together, recruiting aid to locate and defeat the humans. In the end, will the tactician's plan succeed, or will the hungry maws of Grendel's beasts rout them from their fortifications?


                  The current Event Week, "Hunting the Hunters", is being expanded by an additional week to allow for more content and an easier schedule for the staff, and will now be ending next weekend instead of this Sunday.

                  Please look forward to the continuation of this event week! An end-event time will be posted several days before the weekend.
                  Grendel's Revenge StoryGuide

                  Comment


                  • #10
                    "Hunting the Hunters" Event Week
                    Start date: Tuesday, February 15th, 7:00PM EST/ 6:00PM CST/ 5:00PM MST/4:00PM PST

                    End date: Sunday, February 27th, 7:00PM EST/ 6:00PM CST/ 5:00PM MST/4:00PM PST


                    With the support of the demon, Grendel's monsters have gathered support and supplies, and now aim for the fortified castle ruins to rout Isolde's forces, and foil the plan of the two tacticians. A battle comes!



                    [Gathering will begin at the war camp, south of Grendel's Shrine. Listen for the war drums to signal the gathering!]
                    Grendel's Revenge StoryGuide

                    Comment


                    • #11
                      Originally posted by Pence View Post
                      "Hunting the Hunters" Event Week
                      Start date: Tuesday, February 15th, 7:00PM EST/ 6:00PM CST/ 5:00PM MST/4:00PM PST

                      End date: Sunday, February 27th, 7:00PM EST/ 6:00PM CST/ 5:00PM MST/4:00PM PST


                      With the support of the demon, Grendel's monsters have gathered support and supplies, and now aim for the fortified castle ruins to rout Isolde's forces, and foil the plan of the two tacticians. A battle comes!



                      [Gathering will begin at the war camp, south of Grendel's Shrine. Listen for the war drums to signal the gathering!]

                      Don't forget the end of the Event Week is this evening!
                      Grendel's Revenge StoryGuide

                      Comment


                      • #12
                        The Assault

                        "The Assault"
                        Start date: Friday, September 16th, 8:00PM EST/7:00PM CST/6:00PM MST/5:00PM PST
                        End date: Friday-Saturday, September 23rd-24th

                        With the appearance of the Two Tacticians came the well-trained humans, as well as rumors of a group in Isolde known as the Fourteen Sons. Now begins the next phase of the tactician Bartholomew's plot...
                        Grendel's Revenge StoryGuide

                        Comment


                        • #13
                          Reminder

                          Originally posted by Pence View Post
                          "The Assault"
                          Start date: Friday, September 16th, 8:00PM EST/7:00PM CST/6:00PM MST/5:00PM PST
                          End date: Friday-Saturday, September 23rd-24th

                          With the appearance of the Two Tacticians came the well-trained humans, as well as rumors of a group in Isolde known as the Fourteen Sons. Now begins the next phase of the tactician Bartholomew's plot...
                          This is a reminder that "The Assault" begins today. Keep an eye out for human activity.
                          Grendel's Revenge StoryGuide

                          Comment


                          • #14
                            The Assault, Stage Two

                            "The Assault, Stage Two"
                            Start date: Today, September 25th, 5:00PM EST/4:00PM CST/3:00PM MST/2:00PM PST
                            End date: Saturday, October 3rd


                            "The pink-skins came with fire, with metal skin, they came to take what we had rightfully stolen from the scalies and the bonies! They burned our lairs! They stole our treasure! And the smell! That pink smell that comes from their pink skin, that smell of flowers and sunshine and happiness that invades everything."

                            -The Orc's Lament
                            Grendel's Revenge StoryGuide

                            Comment


                            • #15
                              "The Black Bazaar"
                              Start date: Tuesday, May 15th, 8:00PM EST/ 7:00PM CST/ 6:00PM MST/5:00PM PST
                              End date: Sunday, May 20th

                              Inside of stolen halls,
                              we prepare our rarest treasure.
                              Behind locked doors,
                              you submit your worth for measure.
                              Wealth traded in muted celebration,
                              all of it yours with the Black Bazaar’s invitation...

                              -The Black Bazaar’s invitation


                              [From May 15th until May 20th, the Black Bazaar will be in Uthgol, but only those with an invitation may enter and trade.]
                              Grendel's Revenge StoryGuide

                              Comment

                              Working...
                              X