Announcement

Collapse
1 of 2 < >

ZEALOTRY Users: Critical Notice on Continued Use

Edit: Our new HTML5 client (Orchil) is now open for beta testing in The Eternal City. Feel free to try give it a whirl at http://test.skotos.net/orchil/

Edit: We have made great strides toward a new HTML5 client, which should offer a replacement to Zealotry. We're hoping to release that in the very near future, but in the meantime, using Pale Moon remains the best method for ensuring there is zero interruption to your game playing during the transition.

As of November 14, Mozilla will be auto-updating all copies of Mozilla Firefox to Mozilla 57, a new edition of their browser that will disable all legacy add-ons. This will probably include the majority of the plug-ins that you use on Mozilla, including the Skotos Zealotry plug-in.

This is a big problem for us because Zealotry is the most stable of our clients at this time, and the one that we believe is in the widest use. There's unfortunately no easy way to update it, because we'd have to rewrite it from practically scratch, using their new programming system.

There are tricks that you could use to to prevent Mozilla updates, but we don't particularly suggest them, as you want to have a clean, secure browser. Fortunately, there are two alternative browsers that will support Zealotry. Each of them branched off of an earlier version of Mozilla Firefox, and each of them continues to be updated for important security issues.

Pale Moon Browser

The Pale Moon browser is our suggested replacement. It is a totally separate browser that branched off of Firefox some years ago. It will continue to support the classic plug-ins.

To install it:
  • Install Pale Moon (Windows & UNIX only)
  • Install the Zealotry XPI on Pale Moon
  • Restart the Pale Moon Browser
  • Play on Pale Moon

The official version of Pale Moon only supports Windows and UNIX, but you can also get a slightly less official version of Pale Moon for the Mac. We've tested it out and it looks like it's clean and works correctly, but use your own level of caution in working with the Mac variant.

If You Have Errors

Some users are experiencing "Content Encoding Errors" when using Pale Moon and Zealotry. As best we can tell, this is due to an incompatibility between Windows 8.1, Pale Moon, and Plugins. If you have this problem (or any other), we suggest instead using Mozilla's extended-release version of Firefox, which branched at Firefox 52. It's expected to remain supported until at least June 28, 2018, by which time Mozilla is planning to jump their ESR to a post-plugin phase. This is therefore a short-term solution, but we expect to have full release of our New HTML5 client well before that.

To install it:
The Big Picture

Our larger-scale goal is to introduce a new client that will be usable on any browser and make our games generally more accessible. We've had a HTML5 client in process since last year, but are currently hitting roadblocks that make a deployment before November 14 problematic. We've also just started a second project, which would be more specifically focused as a Zealotry replacement, without worries about new bells or new whistles. Both of these possibilities are being done out-of-house, by Skotos players, but they're receiving our highest level of attention for whatever support they need, as this is all our top priority.

So, consider this a short-term fix, but in the meantime if you use Zealotry, please download one of the alternative browsers and test them out ASAP.
2 of 2 < >

Grendel's Revenge Free Accounts

On December 15th of 2012, Grendel's Revenge enabled free accounts for play. This announcement is following in the suit of TEC's own free account announcement, serving as a reminder to any new or returning players that are browsing the forums.

For all the details about what free accounts are, look no further than here: http://forum.skotos.net/showthread.php?t=95655

In order to log into GR for free, simply visit this page to sign into your Skotos account (ignoring any subscription notices it may give): https://www.skotos.net/user/login.php

Then click the following link for Zealotry/Firefox: zealotry:@GrendelsRevenge.skotos.net...login/Zealotry

Or this link for Alice/Internet Explorer: http://grendelsrevenge.skotos.net/mo...in/alice.shtml

Problems? Questions? You can email the GR staff group at grendel.staff@gmail.com
See more
See less

Event Weeks

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • #16
    Originally posted by Pence View Post
    "The Black Bazaar"
    Start date: Tuesday, May 15th, 8:00PM EST/ 7:00PM CST/ 6:00PM MST/5:00PM PST
    End date: Sunday, May 20th

    Inside of stolen halls,
    we prepare our rarest treasure.
    Behind locked doors,
    you submit your worth for measure.
    Wealth traded in muted celebration,
    all of it yours with the Black Bazaar’s invitation...

    -The Black Bazaar’s invitation


    [From May 15th until May 20th, the Black Bazaar will be in Uthgol, but only those with an invitation may enter and trade.]
    This is an on time reminder that the event week 'The Black Bazaar' will begin today at the above times. Be attentive!
    Grendel's Revenge StoryGuide

    Comment


    • #17
      Due to some personal events outside of Uthgol, I've been unable to give the recent Event Week, 'The Black Bazaar', as much attention as I would of liked to. Because of this, I will extend the event week period from Sunday to Tuesday, May 22nd.

      The Black Bazaar will also return beginning roughly next weekend. Any Black Invitations that monsters can find until then may be kept until the Black Bazaar reappears in Uthgol. So get at it!
      Grendel's Revenge StoryGuide

      Comment


      • #18
        The Black Bazaar Returns

        From Friday the 6th at 8:00PM EST/ 7:00PM CST/ 6:00PM MST/5:00PM PST
        Until Friday the 21st of this month, the Black Bazaar will return to Uthgol. Those with an invitation will have access to this hidden festival of trade.

        Using a combination of encoded scribbles and questionable magic, the operation times of the Black Bazaar will be shown to all holders of the invitation in the forums.

        Without an invitation? From July 6th until July 21st you will have several attempts at obtaining an invitation of your own for use in gaining access to the bazaar. How, exactly, you'll go about this is a secret, and the methods will vary greatly!
        Grendel's Revenge StoryGuide

        Comment


        • #19
          Good news, everyone!

          The Black Bazaar's denizens will be extending their stay in Uthgol by an extra week to maximize profit. The Black Bazaar Event 'Week' will now be ending on July 28th, Saturday

          Still without your own black invitation? Be sure to keep an eye out for anything suspicious on July 21st, Saturday between 7:00PM EST/ 6:00PM CST/ 5:00PM MST/4:00PM PST to 9:00PM EST/ 8:00PM CST/ 7:00PM MST/6:00PM PST
          Last edited by Pence; 07-18-2012, 04:15 PM.
          Grendel's Revenge StoryGuide

          Comment


          • #20
            The Festival of Battles Returns

            "The Festival of Battles Returns"
            Start Date: Saturday, December 22nd
            End Date: Sunday Night, January 6th

            "A foreign custom returns to Uthgol as the Festival of Battles! Aid Kek the freed demon in his rituals by fighting tooth, nail, acid, and sword with other monsters around Uthgol and earn powerful rewards in this bloody festival."
            Grendel's Revenge StoryGuide

            Comment


            • #21
              Originally posted by Pence View Post
              "The Festival of Battles Returns"
              Start Date: Saturday, December 22nd
              End Date: Sunday Night, January 6th

              "A foreign custom returns to Uthgol as the Festival of Battles! Aid Kek the freed demon in his rituals by fighting tooth, nail, acid, and sword with other monsters around Uthgol and earn powerful rewards in this bloody festival."
              This is a reminder of the event week "The Festival of Battles Returns". Starting tomorrow, you will be able to issue battle challenges to other monsters once a day. If victorious, you will be granted battle tokens which can be exchanged for impressive rewards.

              For information on how it all works, look here.

              For a list of rewards, look here.

              Fight hard, monsters!
              Grendel's Revenge StoryGuide

              Comment


              • #22
                The Other Nations

                "The Other Nations"
                Start Date: Monday, August 11th
                End Date: Monday, August 18th

                "The shores of Larou were struck by the wooden landing ships of the tan-skinned human invaders. Now their forces spread across Uthgol with an unknown purpose."
                Grendel's Revenge StoryGuide

                Comment


                • #23
                  Today's above posted event time is as follows:
                  8:30PM EST / 7:30PM CST / 6:30PM MST / 5:30PM PST

                  The event will will continue until Monday, August 18th, and events will occur during the days in between. These may or may not have notices, and are more likely to (but not exclusive to) occur during high periods of activity.
                  Grendel's Revenge StoryGuide

                  Comment


                  • #24
                    Tomorrow's closing event is scheduled as follows:
                    8:30PM EST / 7:30PM CST / 6:30PM MST / 5:30PM PST


                    Missed some of the happenings this week? As time allows, we'll be active throughout today and tomorrow leading up to the event with more.
                    Grendel's Revenge StoryGuide

                    Comment

                    Working...
                    X