Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• A Very Rough Guide for Making a Combat Character

A Very Rough "How To Combat Character" Guide

This is a simplified, basic overview for folks wishing to make a combat character, with very little discussion of "advanced" stuff. I am hoping to consolidate some fundamental, widespread information in one place, as I think this stuff should be accessible to anyone. The massive bunch of stuff to untangle and understand in TEC can be overwhelming, and frustrating. TEC makes testing as characters an absolute nightmare, so those of use who have learned from others or tested it ourselves - let's help each other out here.

As I will assume some understanding of terminology, this is not a guide meant for complete newbies. What's discussed is based on the gathered experience of a few players, and not meant to be comprehensive, or remotely the "only" way. There is no substitute for learning, researching, testing and experimenting with the countless options in TEC on your own.

Lastly, keep in mind that you should know better than to make game decisions based solely on mechanics, as every character should be a unique, interesting addition to the gameworld, created for role play, not merely to hack at rats.

- What should I do when rolling a combat character? Why pick certain Attributes or Traits over others in the beginning?

http://eternal-city.wikidot.com/character-generator

Your CharGen roll is of utmost important because you're going to be stuck with many choices that are permanent, period. Namely Traits. ( http://eternal-city.wikidot.com/traits .) Unless you know what you're doing with Traits and you want to get experimental, try not to pick Traits that permanently harm your Stats, such as the Finesse or Shaky Hands traits. Positive Traits such as Athletic, Adrenaline Rush, and negative Traits such as Introverted, Gullible, etc., on the other hand, are very popular for combat characters.